h1

Gerber Sport Multi Tool – UK streel legal?

Sunday July 3, 2011

I’ve had my Gerber Sport multi tool for a long time (bought from Heinnie.com).  These days it’s with me when I’m out taking photographs and I have carried it on me when out cycling too.  However, reading the letter of the law, it’s illegal to carry this multi tool in public due to it’s locking blade.

Today I removed the blade from the tool so that I could confidently carry it whilst out and about without fear that I was carrying an illegal blade.  I don’t use the blade that often so it’s removal isn’t too annoying.  The pliers and screwdrivers are the useful bits on the tool and now they can come with me everywhere.

To remove the blade, you just loosen and remove the bolt/pivot at the base of the blade.  Then you can pull the pivot out and the blade and two screwdrivers fall out – take note of the orientation of the bits at the pivot before attempting this!  I then replaced the blade (on the pivot) with two 1mm washers and put the bolt back on.  Perfect.  The tool still functions as in its original configuration but I no longer have the illegal locking blade.  An easy and quick modification which can easily be reversed if needed.

Leave a Reply

