h1

Top 100 Jazz Albums

Sunday January 23, 2011

In my never-ending quest to find new music, yesterday I found the Jazz100 list of the top 100 Jazz albums.

The good news, from my Jazz music taste perspective, is that I already have 11% of the albums so there’s only another 89% to go!  Four of my already purchased albums are in the top 10.  The 11 already in my collection are listed below.

1 Miles Davis Kind of Blue
3 Charles Mingus Mingus Ah Um
4 The Dave Brubeck Quartet Time Out
9 Herbie Hancock Maiden Voyage
12 Keith Jarrett The Koln Concert
19 Lee Morgan The Sidewinder
31 Weather Report Heavy Weather
33 Herbie Hancock Head Hunters
60 Sonny Clark Cool Struttin’
69 Jimmy Smith The Sermon
100 Charlie Haden & Pat Metheny Beyond the Missouri Sky

I’ve added a few more from the list to my Amazon basket so they’ll be bought at some time this year, not sure when.  Buying them via Amazon’s digital download service means that some of them are as cheap as £3 per album.

There’s a lot of quality music in the world…

Leave a Reply

