h1

Schwalbe Marathon Plus Tyres – Trek 4300

Saturday March 6, 2010

Tyre ComparisonWith a lot of miles forecast for 2010 I’ve set about modifying the Trek to make it better suited for on-road use.

This doesn’t mean that I’m never going to take it off-road again, or that I’m regretting buying a mountain bike over a road bike, but I just need to be able to adapt the bike to the sort of cycling that I’m planning on doing.

Having clocked up a few long rides on the stock bike, I thought that the best mod, and the first to tackle, would be to change the tyres.  Off came the standard knobbly ‘tractor’ tyres and on went a set of road-specific Schwalbe Marathon Plus.  I’d contacted they guys at Dotbike for some advice on an alternative tyre and they came back with some suggestions which included the Marathon Plus.  So, I placed my order (along with some other bits) and whilst there also bought some Schwalbe inner tubes to fit at the same time.

Fitting the tyres was as straight-forward as any tyre fitting and they look pretty good on the bike, making it look more ‘road-worthy’ than with the stock tyres.  They’re 26×1.75 tyres which makes them a bit thinner than the tyres I removed, which were 26×2.25.

The only thing I don’t particularly like with the Marathon Plus tyres is the 3M reflective strip on the sidewall.  I know that this is a pretty good safety feature, providing extra visibility at night, but I’d prefer the option to not have this feature – purely for aesthetic reasons.  But still, it’s probably best to have this feature on long rides when you’re not sure at what time you’ll be returning…

I haven’t managed to get any miles on the new tyresTyre Width yet, maybe tomorrow, but a quick ride along the street showed them to be very smooth and comfortable.  The flatter tread and lower rolling resistance should improve comfort and speed on my long rides.

Photos over on Flickr along with photos of the mods I’ve made (saddle, rear rack, grips).

3 comments

  1. The tread pattern is very similar to my Panaracer tyres but how do they ride? Mine are very good.


  2. Hello there. I’m just choosing the new tyres for Xtracycle, which replace the “tractors”.

    I have very good experience with Big Apples on Dahon but thinking about more universal tyres for Xtracycle.
    Problem is that there are so many Schwalbe models …

    Btw I really like the 3M strip because make the bike looks more touring 🙂


    • Yes, there’s a wide range of Schwalbe tyres! It’s crazy!

      It’s a good brand though.

      (good to hear from you)



Leave a Reply

