h1

Gordy’s Camera Straps

Saturday February 6, 2010

G11 And GordyI’ve been using a long neck cord on my Canon G11 since I bought it at the end of last year as I couldn’t find a suitable wrist strap.  The G11 isn’t supplied with a wrist strap so I’d been looking around the usual places (such as Amazon and eBay) but couldn’t find anything that I fancied.  Then I stumbled across Gordy’s Camera Straps whilst randomly browsing Flickr.

Other Canon users were discussing the benefits and quality of these straps so I visited Gordy’s website and placed an order straight away.

These are hand made leather wrist (and neck) straps which give you the security and support needed but with added ‘class’.

Made of California Latigo belt leather, which comes from range toughened steer hides, my hand made camera straps are tough, flexible, and pliable, with a natural luster that only improves with age.

Each strap is handmade by a little old man (that would be me), or my faithful helper Kim, from real natural cowhide that is not always uniform like plastic.

If the leather is good enough to hold up your pants, it’s good enough to hold up your camera!

The leather is served with .040″ (1mm) diameter polyester cord that is heavy duty and waxed for durability. [Extract from Gordy’s website]

When you order you can select the colour of the leather, the length, fitting type, string colour… to match the strap to your camera or tastes.   Another plus is that it only costs $18 (USD) – including international postage!  I ordered mine on the 24th of January, it shipped from Washington state (USA) on the 27th and was with me, in Rochester (UK), on the 2nd of February.

The quality is excellent and is a vast improvement on the mass-produced ‘string’ which it’s replaced.

If you’re looking for a high quality camera strap then your search has ended, look no further: www.gordyscamerastraps.com

Leave a Reply

