h1

Rochester – Night And Day

Saturday November 28, 2009

I decided to head out on the Dahon on Thursday night with my tripod strapped to the back.  I wanted to test out my camera’s night capability and the Dahon was the best method of transport for the job.

I had the bike kitted out with all my lights including the NiteRider MiNewt and I headed off into the darkness.  I managed to cycle 5 miles during the few hours I was out and got home just as the weather turned.  The last mile of cycling was in the rain but I was happy that I had a good ride and should have captured some good images.

Saturday afternoon I headed out again, this time without the bike but the camera attached in its pouch on my belt.  I was heading to Rochester Castle again, but this time I was going to go inside!  I’ve lived in the area for around twelve years and have spent a lot of time relaxing in the castle’s grounds but I’ve never done the ‘tourist thing’ and gone inside.

There’s nothing much inside, it’s basically a shell but it was worth paying the £5 entrance fee for the view from the top.

It was a very windy day and standing on top of the ancient building was breathtaking in more ways than one.  The sun stayed out long enough for me to take a few photographs and to look down on where I usually sit.

There’s been a castle here since 1066 so it’s got a significant history.  The first stone castle was built around 1087 by the same person that was responsible for the cathedral next door and also the Tower Of London.  For more info, click here.

More photos from my Night and Day trips can be found here, on Flickr.

M2 Motorway At Night (2)

Dahon, Gate and Tripod

Rochester Castle In November

4 comments

  1. Your photos are superb. Nice to see you using a tripod. Composition very neat and some lovely scenes.


    • Many thanks Robin!
      The tripod hasn’t been out of the cupboard since it was last used with my Minolta SLR ‘film’ cameras a good number of years ago…

      The first accessory I bought for my new Canon G11 camera was the remote release (shutter cable) so I could take longer exposure shots.
      David


  2. Just wandered through the whole flickr set. Really good photos. Makes me want to go to Rochester. That’s a first.


    • Thanks Roy!!! 🙂
      I’m not a ‘local’, so I’m not particularly biased, but Rochester does have some nice areas, great history and a fair amount to see and do.

      Getting out on the bike and with the camera is helping me realise, and learn, more about my adopted area.

      David



Leave a Reply

