h1

A New Dahon Challenge

Saturday September 19, 2009

exI’ve decided on my next Dahon challenge.  Not sure when I’ll start but here it is:

I am going to cycle every street in Rochester.

Okay, may not be an ‘around the world’ challenge but I’m going to try and fit this in to my life (around work, sleeping and other activities).  I don’t plan on doing it all in one day, but over the course of time I plan on cycling on every street/road in town – this means cycling the entire length of each street, not just nipping in or cycling half way.

I’m going to use my GPS receiver to track this so I won’t lose track of where I’ve been and it’ll also track the mileage.  I’ll plot progress on a map and see how things go.  If I complete the task quickly then I’ll expand the challenge to the surrounding areas.

I don’t know how many streets there are in Rochester, it’s not a huge town, but I’ll keep a count as I go.

The map below shows the area I’m going to target, bounded by the yellow line.  Rochester can be seen here on Google Maps.

Why do this?  Well I thought that there must be many streets in the area which I haven’t visited and some which I don’t even know exist.  So I decided that I’d spend some time and cycle the streets and see what’s around.

I haven’t started yet and the way things are going, I probably won’t get around to starting until October…

4 comments

  1. Good luck to you. I have only come to your blog today, after searching for Dahon Vitesse reviews (almost to no avail). Keep up the good work, and I am inspired by your trips, personally I think I shall stick to my original idea and get a Brompton.

    Your map idea does sound a really good idea, firstly if you want a change of careers then you could become a taxi driver. Secondly, your GPS traces could be useful to the OpenStreetMap project I am in no way associated with this, at least not in a professional or recognised capacity, but I think that your traces would be appreciated.

    Here’s some links:

    http://www.openstreetmap.org
    http://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/Beginners%27_Guide
    http://opencyclemap.org/


    • Thanks for visiting Joe.

      I’ll take a look at the OpenStreetMap project. Thanks.

      David


  2. It’s seems like a good idea – Good Luck to you.
    I will be watching this trip very attentively 🙂


  3. […] I completed a 77mile ride to London’s Hyde Park and back, began my Rochester Challenge and took the Dahon across The Channel to Calais – amongst […]



Leave a Reply

