h1

Big Apples Tested – They’re Greeeaat!

Tuesday May 26, 2009

Had to get out and test the new Schwalbe Big Apple tyres tonight, I was eager to see if they lived up to the hype.

It was almost 9pm and the sun was just setting so I kitted the Dahon out with my Cateye lights and the Frogs and hit the road.  Surfaces cycled in the test included: tarmac/road, grass, shingle and Rochester’s cobble/block streets.  The BAs definitely DO improve the comfort of the D7HG and also the general handling.  The wider profile tyres give it a more ‘normal’ feel – the Kwest tyres were just a little too thin (especially as I’m 6 foot tall and ## stone!)  😉

So, according to me (!), the Big Apples improve the looks of the bike AND the ride and handling.

Definitely a recommended upgrade!

5 comments

  1. It wouldn’t surprise me that the Big Apple tyres will roll better than the Kenda Kwests. I found the Kenda Kwests hard and unyielding. I had read somewhere that fat semi slick tyres roll better than narrow semi slick tyres.


  2. Hello Dave.
    I would like to know if the Big Apples do feel more sluggish or slow on the Dahon.
    I’ve seen mixed opinions about these tyres and I would love to listen from you.

    Thanks, and keep on riding that Dahon 🙂


    • Hi Pedro,
      Thanks for visiting.
      I haven’t really noticed a difference in speed after fitting the Dahon. I don’t have a speedo/computer fitted to the Dahon so I can’t give before and after figures, unfortunately.

      I suppose, logically, they may prove to be a little slower as they’re fatter tyres so have a higher rolling resistance. However, the Dahon isn’t the fastest bike around so I’m not sure that the difference would be huge.

      I feel that the comfort and improved ride ‘feel’ would out weigh any (minor) loss of speed.

      Sorry I can’t give you anything more factual. All I can say is that I’m glad I made the upgrade, they improve the bike!

      If you upgrade, please let me know what you think!
      David


  3. Thank you very much.
    I’m already convinced about the upgrade and I’ve ordered the tyres from my local bike shop.
    I’m going to test them and I’ll tell you what I think.

    PS: Even though the Dahon aren’t the fastest bikes around I really like to put some speed on mine just for a quick rush of adrenalin and to feel the wind on my face 🙂


    • Excellent! 🙂
      I look forward to seeing what you think. If you have a speedo fitted, I’d be keen to see your speed results before and after.

      Good luck!
      David



Leave a Reply

