h1

Helmet or Not?

Sunday January 18, 2009

Sunday morning browsing led me to the Bike Commute Tips Blog and a post relating to whether or not to wear a cycle helmet.

I  don’t.

Growing up, I spent a lot of time out cycling alone and with friends.  On road and off road, cycling gave me a sense of freedom when I was not old enough to drive a car.  It was great to get out there and have some fun.

I had a few ‘falls’ during that time and luckily picked myself up and carried on.  But during all that time, I never wore a cycle helmet – they just didn’t exist.  Now I’m older and (hopefully*) wiser, I still do not wear a helmet.

I know that there are arguments for wearing one but I decide not to.

What about you?  Do you wear a cycle helmet?

[* some might say as I don’t wear a helmet then I’m obviously not any wiser!]

3 comments

  1. People get all workied up about helmets. I honestly don’t know why. I firmly believe in freedom of choice. I do wear a helmet but I wear it out of habit more that a worry about getting head injuries in an accident. Many people will have horror stories about helmets; wearing them and not wearing them. I chose not to wear mine one day and did come to grief due to my own clumsiness but that didn’t make me start wearing a helmet in case I get hurt again. The bike did have drop handlebars. One time I removed my helmet while riding up a very long and quite steep hill (1½ miles long) to keep my head cool. It’s a personal thing and something that shouldn’t be forced on others. My Dahon is much nicer to ride and I can position the handlebars where they suit me, which is much better than the other bike I rode.


  2. […] « New Tyres Collected Cycle Helmet Poll Stats Update Sunday May 24, 2009 In January I posted a poll on whether or not people wear cycle helmets.  After months of hectic voting (!!!), the current […]


  3. […] ‘helmet or not’ poll is still […]



Leave a Reply

