h1

Which Dahon Would You Buy Next?

Wednesday September 24, 2008

I have my Dahon D7HG, and as I’ve mentioned before it’s a little bit slow – ideal for commuting and nipping into town, but too slow for a decent ‘ride’.

Obviously Dahon makes a large range of bikes but what would you go for to get that extra speed?  Another Dahon?  Or would you go for a mountain bike.  Going for a mountain bike would get you a cheaper bike or more bike for your pound but you lose the compact storage size.

What would you do?…

4 comments

  1. Dave,

    The prices of the higher end Dahons are so dear and that’s why I got the same as you have. My youngest son and I are just back from a 30 mile ride. He was on my BikeE recumbent while I was on the Dahon. We got the train to Coleraine and rode a circular route taking in the towns on the north coast from Portstewart to Bushmills as well as visiting the Giant’s Causeway before returning to Coleraine for the train home. I spin out at about 22mph but I’ve got to the stage that I just freewheel if I can’t pedal further. My average speed was 10.95mph (the computer records even if you take it off the bike!)and that was what i was getting when I rode the BikeE. I’d love the TR but couldn’t afford the difference in the price. I’m very content with my wee Dahon. I have clocked up 128 miles already. Robin


  2. Hi Robin,

    Yes, they’re not cheap are they, even the D7HG is an expensive bike. I think my next bike may be a mountain bike, but I am space limited so storage becomes a problem.

    Well, 11mph is still a lot quicker than walking and you do get the benefit of freewheeling. 🙂


  3. Dave,

    I’ve just bought a Dahon Curve D3 for £280, including lights. It’s years since I’ve cycled, but not currently running a car and space being at a premium I needed a folder. I’m pleasantly surprised by the bike’s build quality and the fact that it rides like a “real bike.” Three gears is a bit limited but I’ve had no problems so far.

    Cheers
    Nigel


  4. Welcome to the world of Dahon Nigel! Great bikes huh?!

    I’d love to see a photo of the bike. 🙂

    Dave



Leave a Reply

