h1

US Cycle Law

Friday September 19, 2008

I think we in the UK have it pretty easy!  Having previously checked out our cycle laws, I thought I’d have a quick look at the cycle law in the United States… it’s not quite as straight forward as over here.

Although I haven’t read and compared each, most States have their own cycle laws – as shown by MassBike’s State Law page.  Hmm, it all looks pretty complex.  But, I suppose if you live in one State then you’re just going to ride in your locality.  I doubt the laws really change too much state by state but you never know…  I wonder if the people who cycle the US, coast to coast, actually check out the changing laws along their route?

I like this one in Massachusetts, seems fair:

You may ride on sidewalks outside business districts, unless local laws prohibit sidewalk riding.

I do, however, prefer the simplicity of the UK Highway Code – it can’t get much clearer than that little book.

Leave a Reply

