h1

Puncture Repair

Sunday August 24, 2008
Repaired

Repaired

Okay, so not overly happy about yesterday’s puncture but I did manage to get to Halfords this morning to buy some repair kit.

The pump is already in the seat post on the D7HG but I still needed a tyre leaver and a puncture kit.  There were a few choices of kit at Halfords.  I’ve grown up knowing about the little box with the the rubber patches, glue, chalk, crayon and sandpaper – these kits were there.  However, I opted for some pre-glued patches called “Skabs” from a company called Slime.  You get six patches in a little box along with a scuffer.  It’s a great idea and the appears to work well – in next to no time my puncture was repaired!

Checking on the Slime website, they also make inner tubes for bikes which have ‘SLiME’ in them.  Now these seem pretty cool and they’re something I’m going to consider: “Smart Tubes instantly seek out and seal punctures as they occur, preventing flats, repeatedly and continuously for up to two years“.  I’ve read somewhere that the road tyres in general are more prone to punctures so this may be the answer.

The other item I needed was a tyre lever and I selected the SpeedLever from crankbrothers.  No need for three tyre levers, just take this one!  Gets the inner tube out very quickly.

Right, I think that Skab should be set now so I’ll take a look at getting the tube back in and the bike road-worthy again.

It’s a shame it’s raining.

5 comments

  1. hi, how did you release the back tyre?
    i have no clue how to do this. all the youtube video is on the front tyre.


  2. Have you got a rear tyre puncture? I fixed my rear tyre puncture without taking the wheel off the bike.


  3. […] to like the CrankBrothers, they make some great kit!  (Previously purchased the Speed Lever for puncture repair.)  So, if you’re looking for a good quality, small bike pump then look no […]


  4. I’ve heard good and bad things about slime. It can apparently get off center and cause balance problems.


    • Michael,

      Yes, I’ve heard about the balancing issues when using their Slime product, that’s why I didn’t opt for that. The Scabs are great though, they’re just adhesive puncture patches.

      I don’t know anyone (personally) who has tried the Slime – do you? It does sound like a good idea though.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      David



Leave a Reply

