h1

Trek 4300 – Skewer Change

Sunday March 20, 2011

So, I managed to get out and take a look at the Trek today to clean it and change a few pieces.  In the end, all I changed were the skewers.

In preparation for the cycling year ahead, I’ve changed the standard quick-release skewers on both wheels for allen key skewers from Halo (I bought the XL 10mm drop-out set).  This should make the bike a little more anti-theft when it’s locked up outside a shop or pub(!).

The change over was very quick and simple.  No special tools required and no grease.

I was going to change the quick-release seat post clamp but I’d bought the wrong size – I needed a 34.9mm clamp for the Trek so I’ve ordered another from Wiggle.  So, the bike is now waiting for the new clamp and then next weekend (hopefully) I’ll fit that and then clean the bike ready for the warmer weather.

Halo Skewer


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

