h1

307 Miles For Charity

Sunday April 18, 2010

At the beginning of 2010 I was keen to make the most of the year ahead and to get out and spend more time on my bikes.  I began to plan a number of rides and challenges, from short local rides to longer more intense ‘journeys’.

One of the major journeys I was planning was to cycle from my home in Rochester, Kent, to my parents’ home in Fishguard, Pembrokeshire – a distance in excess of 300 miles (483km).  Then I began thinking a little more about it…

In the latter half of 2009 my father was diagnosed with Motor Neurone Disease, a progressive neurodegenerative disease that attacks the upper and lower motor neurones.  I didn’t know much about the disease so thought I’d take a look around.  Then I found the Motor Neurone Disease Association (MNDA), a registered charity, which supports sufferers and families in addition to funding awareness and research programmes.

So, with that in mind, I decided to cycle the 300+ miles and raise money for the MNDA at the same time…

Read the full story of my charity cycle ride, my struggles, the kit I took and review my route via this link.

(Click the link above to view my full Charity Ride report or click below to donate to the cause!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

